The customer is always right (even when they aren’t). That big report is due next Thursday, but you have a bunch of little tasks, too. 6. If you have lawn equipment or a toolbox, consider offering up these services. Take a nap. I've been with my current company for almost 9 years and I started here after doing retail. Do you think that is a good idea? Cashier’s aren’t strictly tied to their register. Online marketing goes well beyond social media. I work in retail, and sometimes it's a blast. This will give interest to your day, help pass time, and I find (to paraphrase Andy Rooney, I think) that making someone else's day is usually enough to make mine. If you really can’t stand to see another ad again, then please consider supporting our work with a contribution to wikiHow. This is more of a warning than a tip: If you … That you don’t like? See also: Hotel workers come clean about their jobs on Whisper. Constructively identify what they are doing well and what you think you can do to better compete with them. Don’t be afraid to ask for help. If you have access to your phone or computer, you can message a friend, play a game, read an online book, or download an educational app. Developing a Time-Passing Routine 1 Eat a healthy breakfast. I took a job doing phone based customer service and when I came on board I was making less money working full time than I was doing part time in retail (I got paid base hourly plus commission), but really didn't want to work in retail anymore. To learn how to do some light stretching at your desk, keep reading! Amid the current public health and economic crises, when the world is shifting dramatically and we are all learning and adapting to changes in daily life, people need wikiHow more than ever. Get the proven playbook to heal a broken heart. Seriously. Make, All tip submissions are carefully reviewed before being published. If your manager discovers you killing time on their money, you could lose your job. If you do that, the jo